Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Menu for the Week of 6/18/12

Leave a comment

MENU:

  • Monday: BBQ Chicken Sandwiches and Sweet Potato Fries (a regular in our rotation – I would say we have this every 2-3 weeks – it’s so easy!)
  • Tuesday: Firecracker Pasta Salad – a new recipe to try.  I’m all about food that can be used in multiple meals.
  • Wednesday: Cobb/Club Salad – I don’t really have a recipe, but this is sort of the inspiration.
  • Thursday: Chicken Tikka Masala w/ naan – we’ve been having Indian at least once a week lately.  Patak’s sauces and other finds from Patel Brothers makes it easy!
  • Friday: Potato Soup: my mother-in-laws’ recipe, requested by my husband this week, it’s a new one for me, but in the crock-pot, so perfect for a Friday

PREP PLAN:

Sunday:

  • Organize the RR cabinet by putting last week’s items away, retrieving anything I need from the pantry, and organizing it by meal. If I didn’t do so already when I made the menu, I pull all the recipes out of my binder and put last week’s back in.
  • Chop 5 onions for use in all 5 meals – we love onions!
  • Dice bell peppers for the Pasta Salad and Tikka Masala
  • Cut deli meat into chunks for the cobb/club salad and the potato soup
  • Boil two eggs for the cobb/club salad

Monday:

Morning before work: Throw one diced onion, some chicken breast, and a bottle of BBQ sauce (we use varieties w/o HFCS, like Stubb’s or Secret Six) into the crock-pot before work on low.  I usually add some water, like 1/2 bottle swished around, especially if I’m not sure what time I’ll be home from work.  I’d rather have it runny than dried out.

After work: Throw the sweet potato fries into the oven (I recently discovered Ian’s brand, a-maz-ing!).  The easiest way to shred the chicken is to use a handheld mixer – it is quick and it works really well.  If we’re having vegetables, put either a bag of frozen or a steamer bag from the produce section (if it was on sale that week) into the microwave when there’s only a few minutes left.

Late night: Make the pasta salad for Tuesday night’s dinner, so we can just grab it from the fridge and eat.

Tuesday: I don’t think there’s any prep work to do.  How did that happen? I might chop up the hard-boiled egg, but probably not.

Wednesday:

After work: Chop the remaining ingredients for the salad and throw it together.  The meat was chopped on Sunday, I buy pre-cut lettuce (BOGO at Publix this week), so this would be the hard-boiled egg, the tomatoes, the avocado.

Late night: Put the chicken diced on Sunday into a yogurt marinade for the Tikka Masala.

Thursday:

After work: Cook the marinated chicken, vegetables (either frozen or Eat Smart), the pre-diced onions and peppers.  Cook a 90 second Uncle Ben’s rice in the microwave.  If I’m feeling fancy, I’ll heat the naan in the oven.  Otherwise, it goes over the top of all 4 slots on the toaster.

Friday: The hubby’s handling this one.  I think he’s putting it all in the crock-pot in the morning.  Not sure.  Don’t care 🙂

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

