Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Bubbles and Miranda Rights

Leave a comment

One of the challenges of being a mom is trying to get your kid to eat vegetables. Well, I recently got a new tool in the arsenal.  I was giving my curious and imaginative 2 year-old daughter a bath.  Sadly, all of the bubbles had gone away, so she asked me, “Mommy, where did the bubbles go?”

Me: I don’t know, where do you think they went?

Daughter: I dunno…they go home?

Me: Yes, that’s it, they all went home.

Daughter: Yeah, they go home, go home eat.

Me: Oh yeah?  What do you think the bubbles eat?

Daughter: Bubbles eat green beans.  Yeah.

Now, I latched on to this and we talk about the bubbles eating green beans EVERY night in the bathtub.  In fact tonight, I even got her to say that SHE eats green beans too (which I’m positive hasn’t happened since she ate pureed food).   I almost feel bad, like someone should have read this poor kid her Miranda rights.  Does she not know that what she says can and WILL be used against her at a dinner table in her near future?  Because you’d better believe that the next time we have green beans, I’ll be whipping out the argument…”But the bubbles eat the green beans?  And we looove bubbles, right?”

I’ll let you know how it goes!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

