Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Purple Oatmeal

4 Comments

I always have different colored ice cubes in the freezer.  A good friend tipped me off to this super easy bath fun idea.  It takes a couple minutes to put a few drops of food coloring into the ice cube tray and you have 12 fast bath toys.  They make fun color swirls in the water and can make colored bubbles – what 2yo doesn’t love that?  Now, she even likes to help me choose which colors to make, and I get to teach her about colors and how to mix them to make new colors.

Wait – How does this relate to food?

I keep the ice cube tray clean, so I can use the color cubes in food, too!  When my daughter insists on oatmeal for lunch, I can throw a purple (or blue, orange, green) ice cube in to make it fun and cool it down quickly so she can eat it instead of whining 🙂

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

4 thoughts on “Purple Oatmeal

  1. Great idea. I have to try this. 🙂

  2. Pingback: I Heart Fruit Roll-ups « Menus of a Mom

  3. Pingback: Fall is Here! « Menus of a Mom

What do you think?

