Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

I made it to the store!!!….zzzzz

Leave a comment

We had an amazing weekend at the beach with family, a great time.  But, getting home on Sunday evening before going to work on Monday morning, and knowing that you’re having people over on Wednesday?  Phew, it was a busy night and I’m paying the price now.  But, strangely enough, both my husband and I got bursts of energy last night, and with mine, I decided to head to the grocery store.  I had made the menu and list on the car ride, so I was all set, other than double-checking a couple of recipes before running out of the door. Without further ado, this week’s menu is below:

MENU:

Sunday: Archer Farms Buffalo Macaroni & Cheese dinner -not my finest moment, but my daughter certainly appreciated it, and I was able to unpack while she was eating.

Monday: Taco Nacho Rice (carryover from last week)

Tuesday: Curried Away Chicken Salad on tortillas with vegetables on the side

Wednesday: 4th of July Menu (see below)

Thursday: Cheeseburger Zucchini Pie (new recipe)

Friday: Lemon Garlic Chicken over greens/salad

PREP PLAN (YIKES!):

Sunday: Get groceries, put cold groceries away, leave everything else out, sleep

Monday:

After work: Regret not doing more on Sunday.  Then I got down to business.

I diced two onions, 1 for the Taco Nacho Rice and 1 for the Curried Away Chicken Salad.  Since I don’t like raw onions, I sauteed them all together and just pulled some out for the chicken salad before adding the ground turkey and taco seasoning as the Taco Nacho Rice recipe called for.  Side note: 90% of the time, I substitute lean ground turkey breast for ground beef in my recipes, so I rarely remember that a recipe calls for beef!  Also, I added some frozen mixed veggies when I added the rice and water, just to get some green in there:

Back to the prep plan – while I was sauteing the onions, I put the chicken breast on to boil for the chicken salad.

Late night: Finish preparing the Curried Away Chicken Salad so it’s ready for Tuesday. I shred the chicken in my Vitamix.  I think it’s my favorite function on that machine.

Tuesday: After work: Put a bag of frozen veggies into the microwave while I dish up the chicken salad on the tortillas.

The prep for the party will probably be spread between my husband and I over Tuesday evening and Wednesday morning.

I don’t plan to prep anything else yet, in case we have lots of leftovers from the party and the rest of the week’s menu gets shifted. It’s definitely not a normal week, or one that’s easy to plan, but we’re still having a lot of fun!

Fourth of July Menu:

BBQ Chicken over Cornbread (spicy jalapeno and plain)

Baked Beans (my husband makes the best!)

Loaded Baked Potato Salad

Munchies – chips, veggies, maybe a dip?

For my vegetarian friends, I got some sweet potatoes to bake and some spicy black bean burgers.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

