Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Menu – Week of 7/9/12

Leave a comment

Last week was rough – it was supposed to be a week full of fun plans with friends, but with my daughter and me being sick, all of the plans were cancelled or scaled back significantly.

Major bummer.

We ate mostly leftovers, and had plenty since my daughter and I weren’t really eating much.  I forced myself out of the house Friday night to go grocery shopping, mostly because I hadn’t left the house since Tuesday night and I was getting cabin fever – I learned that an adult woman and a 2-year old whining at each other for two days because they’re sick is not fun.  It was nice to get out of the house, but I still felt pretty miserable and the teen working the register looked at me like I had two green heads.  He was probably afraid I had just blown my nose before I handed over my money and I was going to ruin his hot date?  Anyways, I’m feeling on the mend now, if not 100%, so on with the menu…

MENU:

Monday: Lemon Garlic Chicken over salad/greens (carryover from last week)

Tuesday: Corn & Bean Pockets (new recipe)

Wednesday: Cheeseburger Zucchini Pie (new recipe, carryover from last week)

Thursday: Oh-Honey-Honey Boneless BBQ Wings with Sweet Potatoes and veggies

Friday: Cheeseburger Mac Attack (a personal favorite, because I love mac n’ cheese; it’s like Hamburger Helper done right!)

PREP PLAN:

Sunday:

  • Organize RR Cabinet
  • Dice chicken for the salad and the boneless wings
  • Marinate the chicken for the salad in 3/4 c. lemon juice, 1/2 c. olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic, thyme, whisked together
  • Dice onions for the salad, pockets, pie, and mac attack
  • Dice bell pepper for the salad

Monday:

After work: Cook the chicken through and finish chopping any veggies for the salad.

Late night: Prep the Corn and Bean pockets

Tuesday: Late night: Shred the zucchini.

Wednesday: After work: Cook the Cheeseburger-Zucchini Pie per the recipe.

Thursday: After work: Cook the Boneless Wings per the recipe, microwave the sweet potatoes and veggies.

Friday: After work: Prepare the Cheeseburger Mac Attack without using a crock pot.  I’m always a little leery of putting pasta in the crock pot, and I’m away from the house for longer than the 7-8 hours the recipe calls for if it’s set on low.  It’s still a pretty simple recipe, and I’ll try the crock pot version next time I think of it and have the opportunity to work from the house, so I can watch it.

Here’s hoping the week goes relatively as planned…but if not, I’ll let you know how we adapt, as always.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

