Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Pockets and Prep

Leave a comment

The corn and bean pockets were pretty tasty, or so I hear.  I could taste a little more on Tuesday than I could the night before.  When I was making them on Monday night, my husband assured me that they smelled wonderful as I was toasting them, and he took one of the leftovers for lunch today, so it must have been fairly good.  I served them up with some sweet chili sauce, and a side of yogurt for my daughter.  I’m not sure if I should count that as a victory or not.

She did not, in fact, touch the pocket, or even the sweet chili sauce, which is usually a favorite of hers.  She did, however, tear up the 0% Fage Greek Yogurt with Blueberry.  Good protein?  I’ll take it.

In preparing for tonight’s Cheeseburger Zucchini Pie, I decided to go ahead and cook the beef, onion and zucchini on Tuesday, so I only had to prep the biscuit mix and bake it when I got home from work tonight – not much hands on prep, which is always a plus.

Part of planning is to be flexible to better ideas that come along, right? So, feel free to give me any of your suggestions on how to make it easier! 

I had put the beef/zucchini/onion mixture in the pie pan last night before putting it in the fridge, so I just put the whole thing in the oven to knock the chill off while it was preheating and I was making the biscuit mix to pour over it. Oh, but if you do that, don’t forget to put the cheese on!  I did, and then opened up the oven halfway through it baking and threw some cheese on top.  Oops.

Overall assessment of this one…It wasn’t bad.  My daughter actually ate some zucchini unknowingly, which is always a bonus.  She usually only ingests zucchini in muffin form.  The recipe, as is, was pretty bland.  I think I could doctor it up with some additional spices and maybe some peppers next time and be able to salvage its place in The Binder.  I would also use ground turkey breast instead of the beef next time, which my daughter referred to as “yucky meat”.  To appease my daughter, I’d probably also dice the onions more finely, because every time she bit into an onion, there was some whining from her and some coaxing from me to get her to continue eating.  Keeper or not?  To be determined.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

