Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

100% Boog Approved!

2 Comments

We have many nicknames for my daughter, almost all centered around Booger: Boog, Boogie, Boogie-Boo, Booga-boo… you get the drift.

Every day when I pick her up from “school”, she runs and give me a hug, and then asks, “Mommy, waa we having…”  That’s the first thing she wants to know – what is it that we’re having for dinner that night.  Sometimes I use the opportunity to get her to try to say fun words like tostada, or Jalfrezi.  Sometimes I give her an answer she doesn’t like and she says, “Noooo, want pastaaaaa…

This evening, our conversation went like this:

Boog: What we having for diiinner?

Me: Chicken nuggets and sweet potatoes

Boog (on the way to the car): I wan chicken nuggets

Boog (in the car on the way home): I wan chicken nuggets

Boog (in the car on the way home): I wan chicken nuggets

Boog (in the car on the way home): I wan chicken nuggets

Me: Then you have to be a good girl when we get home so Mommy can make them.

Boog (at home, while I’m making them): I wan chicken nuggets

Me: I’m still cooking them..

Boog (at home, while I’m making them): I wan chicken nuggets

Boog (while they’re baking): I wan chicken nuggets

Boog (when the timer goes off to flip them-not done): Chicken nuggets done!  I eat them!

Sigh.

At least she was excited.  And she cleaned her plate – she ate almost an entire sweet potato by herself (no butter, sugar or anything) and several chicken nuggets, even asking for seconds.

I loved the “boneless wings” too.  They were sweet with just a little hint of heat at the end.  Yum! This was a great recipe with an easy side.  My husband loved it too, and I’m excited about eating it for lunch tomorrow!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

2 thoughts on “100% Boog Approved!

  1. come check out our food/lifestyle blog for fun recipes! https://www.facebook.com/NeedleandFork

What do you think?

