Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Menu – Week of 7/16/12

Leave a comment

I’ve been trying a lot of new recipes lately, so I decided to go more low-key this week.  The one exception is the Squash Crumble, because I’m always on the look out for good meatless meals to work into the rotation.

MENU:

Monday: Cherry Tomato & Yellow Squash Crumble – our meatless meal for the week, and grape tomatoes are on sale at Publix

Tuesday: Pot Roast – Boneless Shoulder Roast is on sale at Publix, and I have a ton of carrots from the garden I need to use up before they go bad.

Wednesday: Beef, Macaroni, and Gravy – a two-fer meal using the leftover Pot Roast

Thursday: Spaghetti Squash Pie

Friday: Dopiaza Curry Chicken with Vegetables, Rice, and Naan

PREP PLAN:

Saturday morning: Organize the RR cabinet – I hadn’t put any of the non-perishable groceries away from Friday night, so I decided to go ahead and work that out this morning…

Sunday:

  • Chop about 3 onions for the Squash Crumble, the Pot Roast, and the Spaghetti Squash Pie.
  • Chop the yellow squash for Monday’s crumble.
  • Shred the Gruyere cheese for the crumble.
  • Make the bread crumbs for the crumble (Nonni’s Garlic Parmesan Italian Toast + Vitamix)
  • I might cook everything for the crumble in the skillet this night and just bake it on Monday – we’ll see how the day goes.
  • Chop the carrots for the Pot Roast.

Monday: After work: Possibly saute the ingredients, definitely bake the Crumble (and have some time to play with Boog!)

Tuesday:

Morning: Put the carrots, onions, celery, potatoes, meat into the crock pot with some water and sodium free beef boullion and other seasonings.

After work: Dish it up… I might get some nice rolls this weekend to go with this.

Wednesday:

After work: Boil some pasta, put the leftover pot roast on it, along with some frozen corn.

<Side note: My daughter just got into a package of gum and was chewing it along with her goldfish – yikes!>

Late night: Cook the spaghetti squash and scrape into a large bowl.

Thursday:

After work: Cook the meat with some onions and finish assembling the spaghetti squash pie – it’s possible I’ll assemble it on Wednesday night – it depends on my energy level on Wednesday and how the week is going at work.  If I think I’ll be late on Thursday, I’ll probably assemble on Wednesday.  Bake it and spend some time with my daughter.

Late night: Chop an onion, bell pepper, and some chicken breast for Friday’s Indian dish. Since this is the only chicken breast dish this week, I wait to chop it until the night before.

FridayAfter work: Cook the dish according to the direction on the sauce jar, heat up some Uncle Ben’s rice, and toast the naan.

Any suggestions?

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

