Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Mac Attack and Adventures in Rice Krispies

1 Comment

I made the Cheeseburger Mac Attack for dinner on Saturday and it was a hit, as always…I mean, it’s macaroni and cheese really, so of course my kid loves it.  She ate the pasta, turkey, and broccoli, but no carrots or cauliflower.  Green food, check!

The real fun on Saturday was making Rice Krispie Treats.  We were in the store last week and Boog saw some pre-made ones in the bakery that she wanted to eat.  So, I promised her we could make our own over the weekend.

We had a great time, though I think more marshmallows ended up in her mouth than in the bowl.  She doesn’t get “real” desserts like baked goods very often, so this was especially a treat.  In fact, when my husband came in the house while we were making them, Boog exclaimed that it was her birthday.  I guess cake and ice cream back in February really made an impression?

Now, the story would end, except I thought I would try to get cute with the leftover marshmallows.  I thought, aww, let’s make the leftover marshmallows red and form a heart on top of the treats… how cute.  Yeah, not so much.  For the record, red food coloring on mini marshmallows turns into something a lot like cotton balls or bits of gauze splattered with blood.  Oops – not really what I was going for.

Have I mentioned that I’m not so crafty?  Every now and then I get bitten by the creative bug and think I am, but it usually turns out as some monstrosity like this.  This is coming from the same person that made a zucchini smash cake for her first birthday and frosted it with red icing.  What was I thinking?  By the end of it, she looked like some savage zombie baby and the cake looked like roadkill.

Lest you think I jest:

At least it tasted good.  Sigh. And at some point, she’ll think my crafty creative misfires are funny, right?

Until then, I just added some blue food coloring to the marshmallows and we called it a patriotic pan of Rice Krispies Treats! <whispers> that’s a heart, by the way

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

One thought on “Mac Attack and Adventures in Rice Krispies

  1. Pingback: I Heart Fruit Roll-ups « Menus of a Mom

What do you think?

