Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Snacks and Eggs for Dinner

Leave a comment

Monday was hectic trying to fit grocery shopping in before I picked up the Boog from school.  I ended up picking her up later than normal, so she was a little on the cranky side.  We had our usual conversation with her asking what we were having for dinner, and me saying Spaghetti Squash Pie.  Well…this sort of set her off so the entire car ride home she was insisting that she didn’t want that, that she didn’t want dinner and that she was going to eat a snack.

So, when we got home, I told her that was fine, that she was going to eat a snack and proceeded to give her the Spaghetti Squash Pie.  It. Was. A. Hit.  She ate two and half bowls of it (Boog-sized, of course).   She was so excited to have a snack and she tore it up.  As always, this one is a keeper!

Tonight we had the Devil-icious Egg Salad.  While it was good, it was also a lot of prep, and in my opinion, not special enough to warrant it.  My husband thought it was awesome, but my daughter spit it out.  That’s a shame because I know she likes hard-boiled eggs – I wish I had made a couple of extra to give to her.  Ultimately, this one is not making the Binder. (I do most of the cooking, so I have final veto power.)

Since Boog tried it and didn’t like it, I made her a chicken and cheese sandwich on one of the pitas, and we had sugar snap peas on the side.  At first, she told me she didn’t like them.  But then…I showed her how you can open them and pop little green balls out (I know, I know, not the best table manners).  After that, she took each one apart, ate the little “green balls” and the shells and then asked for more.  She kept yelling, I tried it…I like it!  Now I can’t get Yo Gabba Gabba out of my head!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

