Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Dinner? Exercise? Persistence?

Leave a comment

Check. Check. And Check.

Last night I put together the Shepherd’s Pie after Boog went to bed.  So, this afternoon when I came home from work, I popped it in the oven and set off on the bicycle to the daycare to pick her up.

Flat tire.

Not to be deterred, I searched for the air compressor in the garage that I think my husband has showed me how to use a hundred times, but I still can’t figure it out.  It seems simple enough, but I’m staring at this thing and seeing no hose. Hmmm, air has to come out of it into my tire somehow…

<I vaguely remember when I was a self-sufficient strong woman, what the heck happened?>

I’m sweating at this point and starting to think, does this count as exercise?

Finally, I give in and call my husband.  He attempts to tell me about his day.  No, no, there’s no time – I’m sorry, I know you’ve told me how to use this thing, but I’m just stupid.

It was literally a Laurel & Hardy act on the phone.  There’s a lever by the gauge, turn it.  I am and I’m telling you that nothing is happening. Is it plugged in?  Yes, its plugged in.  Is there a switch for the outlet?  Not that I know of, are you sure you’re flipping the right lever? I only see one lever that matches all of the descriptions we’ve exchanged about the appearance of the lever.  

And so on and so on.

At this point I’m starting to panic as my best intentions have failed me once again.  I’m starting to devise plans to drive and park a little bit away from the day care, so I can jog or something, but remember, no, I’ll have a toddler with me and that plan just seems silly.

Finally, we realize that I don’t have to turn the compressor on – there’s already enough air in the tank, which is why it’s not flipping on.  Ok, so where’s the hose?  Another comedy routine and I’m finally giving up.  And then I find it underneath one of the motorcycles! I find it!

In the end, I was able to pick up the Boog on the bike (woohoo!).  The 5 miles, while tough, was easier than last time for sure.  And we had a yummy dinner waiting on us when we got home, even if the Boog didn’t appreciate all of its finer points, including the velvety mashed cauliflower on top, YUM!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

