Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Spaghetti is Nice, Black Beans are Not?

1 Comment

Nothing too exciting to report so far this week.  My daughter was pretty cute on Sunday.  We were talking to her about going to school on Monday and she asked if I would be picking her up on the bicycle.  Not Monday, but the rest of the week, we’ll see Boog, we’ll see.

Monday’s meal was a hit because it’s spaghetti, though I found the Vitamix recipe needed to be doctored up a bit.   Thank goodness I had about a 1/2 cup of tomato sauce in the fridge, just to bring it around.

Today, the black bean tostadas were super simple and pretty tasty, though I have to admit that I like the butternut squash version so much more!  Boog, however, wouldn’t even try it, which is disappointing as she likes all of the ingredients, except maybe the avocado.

She actually got away with just eating the “chips” though, the stinker.  I was just ready to go to swim class and so darn proud of her after picking her up from school.  When I walked in, something was going on and it took me a bit to figure out what was happening.  She was facing away from me and a little boy in her class, Jack, was standing next to her and I could see them talking.  Now, last week, someone pushed her down and I think it was Jack (though 2 year olds tell stories, so who knows).  She had a scratch on her face, apparently at the hands of Jack.  When I came in, she was telling him, in no uncertain terms, finger in his chest: Not nice!  Say you’re sorry!  That’s not nice!

Aww, my baby girl, previously the biter kid in class, didn’t retaliate, didn’t just take it, and didn’t “snitch” as my husband so eloquently put it.  I was really proud that she stood up for herself without being aggressive.  Maybe she listens to what I say after all.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

One thought on “Spaghetti is Nice, Black Beans are Not?

  1. Pingback: Menu – Week of 9/17/12 « Menus of a Mom

What do you think?

