Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

A Little Improv Makes the Dinner Better!

Leave a comment

Chicken and Tomato Couscous is one of those meals that is pretty darn good, but it’s not a “WOW” dinner, by any means.  I almost always substitute the large tomato chopped for a can of diced tomatoes.  Do I like a fresh tomato better?  Of course! But I’ve found that one of the most important pieces of menu planning is to be realistic – be realistic about what you can and what you’re willing to do, otherwise it won’t work.  Part of that is admitting your strengths and weaknesses.

Dicing a fresh tomato falls squarely in my weakness column.  I don’t care for it.  I’m not good at it.  Even with a good knife.  Nope, I end up with a mashed up mess of tomato that just frustrates me.

So, on to actually making Wednesday’s dinner.  Looking at the recipe, it calls for the roasted garlic and olive oil flavored couscous.  I didn’t have that.  I did have some garlic and chicken flavored rice pilaf from the same brand.  Hmm, that’ll work.  Now on to the tomato.  Fresh – no.  A can of diced tomatoes – I always have way too many  in the pantry.  They are BOGO at Publix every few weeks.  I didn’t have any.  Well, looks like I’ll be using some Amy’s Tomato Bisque.

What we ended up with is WAY better than the normal version.  It was so tasty. Husband didn’t recognize it.  Boog ate some and liked it, but I wouldn’t say she was excited about it.

Tonight’s dinner is kind of a standby…Nothing special but always delicious.  However, my daughter is not a fan of cheeseburgers (weird kid, I know).  She ate a few pieces of burger, all of the cheese from it, and all of her sweet potato fries.

Unfortunately, the sugar snap pea magic of the green balls that we experienced the other night was gone. Oh well, maybe tomorrow.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

