Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Worthy of the Temple

Leave a comment

Not far from here is a Thai Buddhist Temple that has an awesome Sunday market with all sorts of Thai food and drinks and desserts.  It’s all homemade and available by cheap donation to benefit the temple.  They have the most amazing Thai food and picnic tables set up along the river, all with a backdrop of this beautiful and ornate temple.

The Sunday Market is a madhouse and has grown so much since we started going.  There are crowds, I didn’t know what any of the food was or what I would like or how it worked.  It was all pretty overwhelming.  But the first time I went, I discovered the Pad Thai, which I had never had before.

I was instantly hooked.  It’s the most popular thing they have, so you either have to get there at about 10am when they open, or be willing to wait in line for quite a while to get the Pad Thai.  It’s one of those – They bring a huge amount of it over, and you think you’re going to get it, but the three people in the line in front of you all get 5 containers of it.  But it’s worth the wait!

Because I’m so spoiled on the Pad Thai at the temple, I’ve been too intimidated to ever try to make it myself.  So when I stumbled across this Easy Vegan Pad Thai recipe at Vegetarian Ventures, I decided, what the heck, I’ll give it a try.

It really was easy!  And while it’s definitely different than the Pad Thai from the temple, it was delicious, and did I mention easy?

It was a hit with the whole family.  I think my husband ate too much of it, and the Boog had 3 bowls.  No joke.  My husband practically demanded that I make it again, and I’m sure if my Boog understood the concept of the Binder, she would have put the recipe in herself.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

