Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Menu – Week of 8/20/12

2 Comments

Closer to a normal meal-planning week – let’s see what we have in store:

MENU:

Monday: Tuscan Vegetable Stew (Slow cooker recipe trying for the first time)

Tuesday: Roasted Vegetable Ciabatta 

Wednesday: Butternut Squash Calzones (borrowed from The Hearty Herbivore – I’ll be making a shortcut version, but someday I’d like to try the “real” thing!)

Thursday: Not Your Average Tamale Pie

Friday: Sausage Ragu over Creamy Polenta (another one I have a shortcut for)

PREP PLAN:

Sunday:

-Organize the RR cabinet
-Start the beans soaking
-Hard-boil eggs (these are just for snacks, not meals)
-Chop carrots, zucchini, and green beans for Monday’s stew

MondayBefore work: Toss beans and carrots into the crock pot with some fresh herbs and hope for the best!

After work: Toss in the tomatoes, pasta, zucchini, and green beans and hope the weatherman is wrong so I can pick Boog up from her new “big girl class!” on the bike.

Late night: Prep and assemble the Ciabatta for Tuesday.

Tuesday: After work:  Enjoy the Ciabatta with some veggies and hummus!

Late night: Prep the calzones.  I plan to roast the squash and saute the kale.  I might put together the calzones – I’m not sure.  I’m using store-bought dough and frozed diced butternut squash as my shortcuts.  We’ll see how it goes.

WednesdayAfter work: Possibly assemble the calzones. Bake them and roast the poblano pepper for the Tamale Pie at the same time.

ThursdayAfter work:  Assemble and bake the Tamale Pie

Friday: After work: Prep the Sausage Ragu over Creamy Polenta.  I use premade Basil and Garlic Polenta as my shortcut.

Three meatless meals this week!  Woohoo!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

2 thoughts on “Menu – Week of 8/20/12

  1. Yum! Everything sounds delicious! Hope the calzones turn out great! 🙂

What do you think?

