Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Progression of Yum!

2 Comments

We had the Butternut Squash Calzones tonight, borrowed from The Hearty Herbivore.  These were so colorful to assemble, I had to take pictures as I went.

Super Green Kale

We had some of the rainbow going again tonight.

Butternut Squash and Red Onions

The whole house smelled amazing as I was baking these.

I wish you could smell this.

We sat down to dinner and Boog was less than enamored, mainly because I made the mistake of telling her that there was squash inside, which is like a four-letter word to a toddler, or at least mine.  Then when she saw the kale, she insisted I remove the “salad” from her “pizza”.  Sigh.

Well, whatever, she enjoyed her pizza crust with feta cheese, while I enjoyed my calzone.  This is one of those meals where you take a bite, think, oh, that’s pretty good… And then the more you eat, the more delicious it is.  The progression of yum!

It worked out well with the time-saving substitutions I made as well.  Even my husband thought it was awesome, and made a comment about how good the kale tasted with everything!  The combination really is amazing, and awfully pretty too:

Cut open to reveal all the yumminess inside

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

2 thoughts on “Progression of Yum!

What do you think?

