Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Don’t Cry Over Spilled Milk

3 Comments

Another pretty one in progress, right?  Tonight we made the Tamale Pie, yum!  Usually when I make this recipe, I don’t roast a poblano pepper – I just saute some bell pepper.  But this time I thought, what the heck, and it really made a difference.  I also used the rest of the red onion from last night.

Boog’s been really into helping me lately and really wanting to be independent, AND she’s excited about cooking/baking with me and seeing food as I’m making it.  So I let her help tonight.

Sometimes, especially on a busy weeknight, when we cook together, I have to sort of shut down one part of myself and repeat the mantra that this is fun, this is fun, don’t rush it, this is fun and it’s okay that it’s taking 12 times longer than normal.  We can’t eat dinner at 11 o’clock tonight, come on come on.  No, this is fun.

I cooked the meat and everything on the stove and let her put the ingredients for the cornbread into the bowl and mix it.  All was going well until I couldn’t find our smaller plastic measuring cup…only the heavier glass one.  But, I thought, this is fine, she used it this weekend to pour ingredients without a problem.

And that’s when the milk came pouring down onto her. The dining room chair she was standing on. The counter.  The cabinets. The floor.  Sigh.  Maybe we’ll eat before midnight.

I tried to at least get everything wiped up, so we could get this thing into the oven to start baking.  We added some creamed corn (a trick we ALWAYS use when making cornbread) and she started stirring.  Then she says, “I wanna smell this.”  Ok, honey.  She smells it, tells me to smell it.  I say that it smells like corn.  She says, “This smells sooooo good.”  Too cute.  Okay, what’s a little spilled milk?

Daddy came home when we were about to put it all together to bake it.  She was so excited, “I MAKE CORN!” and she wanted to run over to him with the bowl of cornbread batter to show him.

Here’s the end product – it may not photograph well, but I forgot how much I enjoy this dish.  You can add cheese, sour cream, etc. to it, but I don’t think it needs it.  It’s tasty enough to stand on its own.  Husband put hot sauce on his, and Boog and I put some sweet chili sauce on ours which I think is the perfect touch.

And I love that Boog got to help with cooking during the week and not just a one-off baking project.  Even if we ended up with a sticky floor and a little spilled milk.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Cry Over Spilled Milk

  1. That looks really hearty and filling 🙂

  2. Pingback: No, I Would Not Like a Poblano Pepper Facial, Thank You « Menus of a Mom

What do you think?

