Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Shawarma City

Leave a comment

I love Chicken Shawarma.  Byblos Pitas is my favorite place in town to get Shawarma and it’s just one of my favorite places in general.  So, as much as I love Modern Family, I couldn’t help but be slightly offended by Cam and Mitchell’s dissatisfaction with Shawarma City in this episode.

I made our own version of Chicken Shawarma tonight for dinner, and while not as good as what I get at Byblos, it’s super simple and pretty darn good.

First up, I found these great pitas at Publix that are pretty close to Byblos, thin and not too stiff!

I smeared some tzatziki on the inside and stuffed with romaine, cucumbers, and tomatoes.  My trick to chop up vegetables like cucumbers is to cut a cross in them length-wise and then slice them to your desired thickness – you end up with little cucumber triangles that work great in a pita or a salad.

It really works!

The chicken itself is cooked with onion, bell pepper, and sofrito.  Super simple.  Pop that in the pita and top with a little feta if you so desire.

Note the mini-deconstructed version for Boog

Roll her up and serve with pita chips or veggies with hummus or babaganoush. Yum!  And the Boog ate her deconstructed version, even trying a bit of cucumber after dangling the promise of a honeydew melon dessert.

We like Shawarma City!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

