Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Phyllo is Magic

Leave a comment

It’s pretty in the pan…

Tonight we had the Phyllo Chicken Pie.  I’ve made this dish once before and have been wanting to make it again for the past month and a half!  I just keep forgetting about it when I’m throwing together a menu.  I finally got it on the radar for last week, got the ingredients, but ended up not making it.

Finally, in all its yumminess, I got it tonight.  It’s such a simple recipe, but phyllo dough works its magic and makes it seem like something special.  It’s just oh-so-good.  Husband raved about how good it was.  Boog ate some of it, but didn’t seem overly impressed with the phyllo (crazy, I know!)  She was more concerned about where the cheese was (EVERYWHERE, I wanted to say, mmmmm).

But it’s what’s inside that counts!

A bit of advice, though – if you plan to assemble it the night before, don’t forget to get the phyllo dough out of the freezer two nights before!  I did not do that, so I made the filling last night, and had to assemble today, which delayed when we ate dinner.  But it was well worth the wait.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

