Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Grocery Shopping

4 Comments

One of the ways that I’m able to be flexible in my meal planning is by stocking up on staples when they are on sale.  In fact, from week to week, I buy very few groceries – mostly fresh fruit, milk, eggs, and specific vegetables that I prefer fresh.  I stock up on meat, pasta, rice, and frozen vegetables whenever they are on sale.

In fact, two weeks ago, Sweetbay had boneless skinless chicken breast on sale for $1.99/lb.  It’s usually more than twice that, we bought about 45 pounds! I split them up into two-breast portions in freezer bags and now they’re ready to go in the freezer.

This helps us save money on groceries, especially more “whole” foods and less processed stuff, while having ingredients on hand in a pinch.  I know that I can always throw some pasta, chicken breast, frozen vegetables and a jar of sauce together for dinner if needed.

For the menu posts going forward, I plan to include my approach for groceries in addition the menu and prep plan.  I’ll point out the ingredients for each meal that I need to purchase compared to those that I already have on hand.  Hopefully someone finds it helpful and/or can provide some feedback/tips!

Also, I’m almost out of ideas for these “other” types of posts, so if anyone has questions or things they want me to try out, let me know 🙂

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

4 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping

  1. Not sure if you have a Whole Foods in your neighborhood, but they’ve been having a sale on bulk bin grains, too.

  2. Ah, no – since I moved about a year and a half ago, my closest Whole Foods is quite a trek, but thanks for the tip! If I’m over in the part of town, I’ll definitely stop in. The bulk section is my favorite part of that store.

  3. I love doing this! I actually just bought bread for 1.89 a loaf and it was organic on clearance I am going to freeze it. I don’t think I could stock up heavily on any thing else my freezer is to small and it would never get cold, but I do stock up on dry items. I have about 15 pounds of oatmeal right now at 69 cent a pound.

    • The first thing I did when we moved into our new space last year was get an extra freezer. I was so excited! My husband was always complaining before because I would have it crammed full of meat and frozen vegetables! Wow, that is a lot of oatmeal, but it does look like you do lots of great things with it 🙂

What do you think?

