Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Menu – Week of 9/10/12

Leave a comment

MENU:

Monday: Mini Mexican Pizzas
Tuesday: Slow Cooker Lasagna – I haven’t made this before, but I’m getting inspiration from here and here.  I’ll post the recipe as I actually make it later in the week.
Wednesday: Chicken Tikka (made with Patak’s Tikka Marinade)
Thursday: Layered Bruschetta Salad
Friday: Quinoa Black Bean Burgers  from Savy Naturalista with sweet potato fries

GROCERIES:

I have to buy:

  • Tortillas
  • Black beans (I need to restock with the next sale!)
  • Monterey Jack cheese
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Eggs (had to restock after vacation)
  • Zucchini
  • Lasagna noodles
  • Fresh tomatoes
  • Fresh basil
  • Romaine
  • Sweet potato
  • Onions and peppers to add to everything 🙂

I already have on hand:

  • Ro-tel tomatoes (I’m using these in place of the stewed tomatoes and green chiles)
  • Frozen corn
  • Chili powder
  • Cumin
  • Carrots and frozen vegetables for the lasagna
  • Marinara sauce
  • Chicken sausage (I’m using this for the lasagna)
  • Chicken breast
  • Patak’s Tikka marinade
  • Greek yogurt
  • Rice
  • Naan
  • Frozen vegetables
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Olive Oil
  • Croutons (only because I bought them when I planned to have this a couple of weeks ago)
  • Italian dressing to marinate the chicken for the Bruschetta salad
  • Parmesan
  • Quinoa
  • Oats
  • Coriander
  • Olive oil

PREP PLAN:

Sunday:

  • Organize the RR cabinet
  • Dice onions and bell pepper
  • Puree tomatoes and combine corn mixture for the Mexican Pizzas

Monday:

After work: Put together the pizzas and bake.
Late night: Shred or slice zucchini.  Mix cheese mixture for the lasagna.

Tuesday:

Before work Assemble the lasagna in the slow cooker.
Late night: Marinate the already diced chicken in Greek yogurt and Tikka marinade.

Wednesday:

After work: Cook the Chicken Tikka with some vegetables, heat up rice and naan.
Late night: Marinate the already diced chicken in Italian dressing.

Thursday:

After work:  Cook the chicken and assemble the salad.
Late night: Make the Quinoa black bean burgers.

Friday:

After work: Bake the sweet potato fries and reheat some burgers.

Enjoy~

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

