Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Dental D@mn!

2 Comments

I had to go to the dentist today, and not just for a nice cleaning, but for actual work.  Boo.  And on both sides of my mouth, on the bottom.  I usually get dental work done in the morning, so I can plan a close-to-normal meal the same day.  I thought the Mini Mexican Pizzas would be no problem – they’re pretty soft.  I was not thinking that I was going to the dentist at the end of my day so my whole face was numb.  As a side note, try talking to your kid’s day care teacher about potty-training while trying not to drool on yourself…it’s a blast!

Anyway, I ended up eating some instant mashed potatoes for dinner, so as to not unknowingly gnaw off the inside of my cheeks <there’s a pleasant visual for you…sorry!>

I’m gonna eat it

On the plus side, since I really only had to assemble the pizzas tonight and bake them, Boog got to help me.  I already mentioned that I had substituted the stewed tomatoes and green chilies with cans of Ro-tel.  I also added diced green bell pepper and sauteed onions to the corn/black bean mixture.  Oh! And I cut the recipe in half, because I just didn’t think I needed 16 pizzas.

This recipe was super easy and could be easily modified to suit your needs.  I couldn’t eat them because of the aforementioned cheek-gnawing fear, and Boog indicated that it was too spicy for her<aka shrieked and gulped down her milk>, so I had the mashed potatoes and she ate a frozen pancake.  Sigh. Conversation at dinner was fun because I was harder to understand than she was, though she did keep telling me that her milk was sad and I had to give it a hug.  Where do they come up with these things?

Husband came home and devoured them.   He topped his with avocado slices

I might be yummy

and sour cream and raved about them.  I’m excited to eat them for lunch tomorrow so I can give them a try.  Next time, I might mix one can of Ro-tel and one can of plain diced tomatoes to cool it down for Boog.  Oh, and plan it for a night I can actually eat, of course.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

2 thoughts on “Dental D@mn!

  1. I like the recipe and dislike the above mentioned dental pain. I’m dreading a return to the dentist this fall. I had a terrible dentist several years ago who wound up causing me long-term dental problems, so now it’s triage time every time I visit this new guy. Hope your teeth are better today.

  2. I so dislike going to the dentist. I had a ton of work earlier this year and had to get 2 crowns yesterday for fillings they did less than 6 months ago that had broken. Ugh. Fortunately, everything is much better today, if still a bit tender. Hopefully you won’t have to go to visit the dentist for a long time!

What do you think?

