Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Crock-Pot Disaster

11 Comments

MMMM…I wish you could smell this. Don’t you?

Yep.  There’s that.  That is slow cooker lasagna.  Can’t you tell?

No?  Well, I’m offended.

So, here’s the thing about slow cooker recipes…Most of them have a lot of potential for SAHMs and WAHMs, but not so much for people who work outside of the home, especially full-time.  Because most recipes call for cooking on HIGH 3-4 hours or LOW 6-8 hours.  So, if you’re out of the house for say, 10+ hours, like I am, you have a couple of options, both of which I’ve attempted to use in recent dinner disasters:

1. Instead of cooking on LOW for 6 hours, try WARM for 10-1/2 hours.  Result: Gummy, not quite cooked food – see one not awful example here, and another complete disaster example here.

2. Cook it on LOW and go for broke.  And you end up with that “delicious” mess above.

While disappointed (I had dreamed of lasagna all day), I’m not surprised.  I knew it was a long shot.  Tuesdays are going to have to go back to sandwiches or reheats or proven crock-pot meals, like BBQ, because these experiments have not been working.  TGFEM!  We had some Easy Mac in the pantry leftover from our time at the beach, so that’s what Boog and I ate.

Easy Mac + Purple Ice Cube

My husband tried to reassure me that he could tell it would have been “really good” had it cooked for two hours less.  It makes me really sad that I put so many veggies in it.  I would have enjoyed them.

I leave you with this.

Notice the nice, uniform brown-grey color. Oh wait, it was supposed to be green, red, white, orange…

I don’t plan to post the recipe.  Now, now, don’t cry.  At least my dogs will be eating good for the next few days.  Again.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

11 thoughts on “Crock-Pot Disaster

  1. I have such a hard time with slow cooker meals. You’d think they would be easier. Fool proof, even.

    • I know! They’re always touted as being so helpful, but I haven’t really found anything besides roasts or shredded BBQ that I can successfully make. At least I’ve been validated that it’s not just me!

      • Ever try corned beef in the crock pot…..add turnip (if you like), carrots, potatoes and whole onions….put the beef on top of the vegetables…..slow cook for 6-8 hours and voila! a great meal…..simple, not a mess of pots and pans and very good too. Enjoy!

  2. Sorry it wasn’t good, thank God for pantry and freezer.

  3. I did not know you could burn crock pot meals… Wow I am going to try and make one… It did not look that bad under maybe just the cheese??

  4. Pingback: Sometimes It’s OK to Change Your Mind « Menus of a Mom

  5. Pingback: Fall is Here! « Menus of a Mom

  6. The problem is pasta and rices don’t cook right in a crock pot. Meats generally are ok, but not fish. Don’t have a crock pit? Slow cook in your oven. Make sure the dish is covered with a good lid.

  7. Try using a timer. Have it turn ON two hours after you leave. Works like a dream.

What do you think?

