Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Veggie Burgers and Lenticular Images

2 Comments

Not so pretty, but still tasty!

We tried out the Quinoa Black Bean Burgers from Savy Naturalista tonight.  I actually made all of the patties yesterday, with help from Boog, but I need to remember to pay attention and… you know, measure things when I am trying out a new recipe!  I think I added too much oat and not enough black beans, as my patties were not nearly as pretty as the original 🙂

No matter though…  Boog and I had fun making them and we had a lot of fun tonight.

We paired them up with sweet potato fries and a Mediterranean veggie blend of sugar snap peas, baby corn, edamame, water chestnut, and red bell pepper.  While I was getting everything platedBoog exclaimed that something scared her.  I could not figure out was she was scared of.  Then, she says, “It scare my eyes!

At this point, I’m getting a little worried, trying to figure out what she’s talking about.  Turns out, she was playing with her Elmo cup, which has a lenticular image on it. <No, I did not know that it was called that, but it was driving me crazy so I had to look it up!>  She cracks me up.

Then, I put her plate down and she grabs a sugar snap pea and exclaims, “I take the balls out!”  That’s my girl!

Anyway, she ate great tonight, eating all of her sweet potato fries (of course!), her sugar snap peas and her edamame.  She had a bit of water chestnut and baby corn, and had a little bit of the veggie burger.  She declared that she liked it, but then only had 2 bites.  Whatever, I’m calling it a win all around.

I thought the veggie burgers were really tasty!  I made them with a quinoa/wild rice blend, because I had an open bag on hand.  I think I would use just quinoa next time, and you know, pay attention to what I’m doing, but overall the flavor was really good.  I had a slice of cheddar between two burgers for dinner, but I popped a Laughing Cow cheese wedge on one for lunch today and I liked that combo even better!

Husband complained, but, to be fair, he mentioned that he wanted burgers after I had already made the menu and groaned when I told him we were having veggie burgers.

<grunt>He man.  He want meat.</grunt>

But they couldn’t have been too bad because I think he ate like 4 of them!  So, I’ll definitely try these again 🙂

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

2 thoughts on “Veggie Burgers and Lenticular Images

  1. Ha ha ha they love there meat don’t they? Lol don’t worry your not the only one when I see recipes I just do my own thing and wonder why it never comes out the right way..

    • I know! I can do my own thing if I’m familiar with the concept at least, but I’ve never made veggie burgers before, so I should have paid a little bit closer attention. No matter though, I’ve had really good lunches all week!

What do you think?

