Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Noodles and Doodles and Muffins, Oh My!

2 Comments

Lots to catch up on!  We’ve been busy busy.

A few weekends ago, we discovered the show Noodle and Doodle on Sprout.  It’s awesome!  Each show, they have a theme and make a recipe in the kitchen with a related craft.  Everything Boog sees on there, she says, I WANNA do THAT, so we have an endless list of project ideas. And now when we do cook or bake together, I don’t have to fight her to wash her hands first, I just tell her she has to wash them like Noodle does and she’s all over it.

On Sunday morning, we did some baking to restock the freezer with zucchini muffins and tried out these Vegetable Garden Muffins we saw on the show.  We were, um, off our baking game, big time.  Boog was really interested in baking at first, but my husband was home and had the TV on and Boog kept getting distracted, not to mention we had been butting heads the latter part of last week.  So I did a lot of the baking on my own.

We started with the Garden muffins – Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures of them, but I’ll definitely be trying these out again.  The only flour I had in the house was chickpea flour, which would have worked fine except I didn’t compensate and add any leavening, so they came out a bit dense.  Also, I’d add a bit of salt to them next time.  But no worries, they were pretty good anyway, and, the best part, Boog eats them.  Ours were full of zucchini and yellow squash and topped with carrots, awesome!

Then I moved on to the Zucchini Muffins.  I had exactly 12 muffin papers, but my recipe always makes more….what to do, what to do.  I decided to use those silicone letter molds. Yes!  Thinking on the fly and now I have alphabet muffins, excellent.  Except… I forgot to set the timer on the oven.  Somehow, magically, I  checked on them and saved everything, and they came out fairly well.  The muffins were just a bit “tough” on the bottom, but otherwise, tasty 🙂

 

 

Bite-sized and perfect for little hands!

Since we had enough leftovers to cover dinner on Friday night, I made the catch-all pasta that had been planned on Sunday night instead.  Simple, delicious, Boog always eats pasta, and I cleaned out a lot of miscellaneous stuff from the refrigerator.

Lastly, tonight we had the delicious Cherry Tomato & Yellow Squash Crumble.  It came out great, and Boog ate her squash (though she passed on the tomatoes tonight).  However, I think the last time I made this, I not only chopped the ingredients the night before, but had sautéed them all and assembled everything but the cheese and bread crumbs.  I only did the chopping last night, so it took some time this evening to saute it all and then bake it.  Oops – that’s part of the reason I started the blog, so I can remember the best approach to take on these recipes.  So, now it is officially documented…hopefully I can remember for next time!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

2 thoughts on “Noodles and Doodles and Muffins, Oh My!

  1. Let’s get cooking! Your muffins sound perfect for the little ones, as well as health minded older members of the family

What do you think?

