Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Bugs, Boogs, MILs, and Some Me/Us Time

4 Comments

This week’s been a little off schedule.  I knew making swim class on Tuesday was going to be tough as I had a late meeting at work.  But, I thought I might still make it…until.  Yeah, I was sick on the way home.  I’ll leave it at that.

I barely made it pick the Boog up from school.  My dinner consisted of some bread and Sierra Mist (thanks Husband for picking those up).  He had a sandwich.  Boog had a super appetite – she ate 2 yogurts and two bowls of cereal, Life, to be exact.

Someone remind me again why I cook for her every night??  Sigh.

Yesterday, my wonderful mother-in-law came for a visit with Boog and made dinner so I could catch up on some things at work and rest up a bit after my little bug.    She made the butternut squash tostadas, so good.  I forgot to take a picture, but here’s what these delicious little guys look like from the last time we had them.

 

I also promised the recipe, so here goes!

Butternut Squash Tostadas

Ingredients:

1 small onion, chopped coarsely

1 bag frozen diced butternut squash (you can, of course, use fresh, but what an easy shortcut!)

1 can Ro-tel diced tomatoes with green chilies

cilantro (or cilantro paste as a short cut)

lime juice

chipotle pepper seasoning

tostada shells (we used baked)

crumbled goat cheese

Directions:

Saute onion with the butternut squash until onion is translucent.

Add the tomatoes, cilantro, lime juice, and chipotle.

Heat through.

Put squash mixture on tostada shells and top with goat cheese.

 

Seriously, the most simple meal, but it tastes gourmet.

Anyway, so last night, my mother-in-law asked if she could take Boog home with her for a visit for a few days.  Huh?

What mixed emotions!  Now, I have to point out that my daughter is more than two and a half years old and she has never been away from me over night since the day she was born.  Let’s be clear, I’m not saying that like it’s a badge of honor – the opportunity just hasn’t presented itself.

So, even though Husband and I looked through pictures of the Boog tonight, and we of course miss her, it’s nice to have a breather.  Husband and I can have some “us” time this weekend without shelling out major bucks on a babysitter.

I was able to make dinner without any arguments or whining in the background, though I missed my little helper.  And I think she would have liked the Foil-Pack Chicken & Broccoli Dinner I made tonight.  It was super easy and pretty tasty.

It was rather nice to not have to be a role model for a night.

What’s that? Why yes, I would like to eat my dinner in front of the television.  And I can watch some trash TV with absolutely no redeeming qualities and not Fresh Beat Band?  Don’t mind if I do.

Love you Boog, but much thanks to my mother-in-law for a few days off!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

4 thoughts on “Bugs, Boogs, MILs, and Some Me/Us Time

  1. Love having Keelin, grandpa and I are spoiling her. U might not want her back. LOL enjoy ur time. I love u.

What do you think?

