Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Menu – Week of 10/1/12

2 Comments

Welcome to October! I haven’t started pulling out the fall recipes yet, but I’m pretty excited about pumpkin festivals and Halloween this month!  Fall recipes will be sure to follow soon.

MENU:

Monday: Asian Chicken Quesadillas – (carryover from last week)

Tuesday: Chicken Broccoli Quinoa Casserole

Wednesday: Mini Chicken Pot Pies – I got so excited about this group of recipes, I almost instituted an all-muffin pan menu this week!

Thursday: Crustless Cheddar Broccoli Quiche from Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Friday: Make Your Own Pizza Night – I thought this would be fun to do with Boog.

GROCERIES:

I have to buy:

  • Broccoli
  • Onions
  • Eggs
  • Egg beaters
  • Cottage cheese

I already have on hand:

  • Snow peas
  • Carrots
  • Lettuce
  • Chicken
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Asian sesame dressing
  • Tortillas
  • Sesame oil
  • Quinoa
  • Chicken Broth
  • Frozen mixed veggies
  • Salt, pepper, thyme
  • Bisquick
  • Milk
  • Oil
  • Pizza crusts
  • Pizza sauce
  • Shredded Italian cheese
  • Pepperoni and other pizza toppings (olives, mushrooms)

Low grocery bill this week for sure!

PREP PLAN:

Sunday:

  • Organize the RR cabinet
  • Prep the peas for the quesadillas
  • Dice chicken for the quesadillas, casserole, and pot pies
  • Dice onions for the casserole, pot pies, quiche, and pizza
  • Cook the chicken for the quesadillas and casserole
  • Cook the quinoa for the casserole

Monday:

After work: Assemble and cook the quesadillas

Late night: Prep and bake the casserole.

Tuesday:

After work Re-heat the casserole with the help of Chef Mike.

Late night: Cook the chicken mixture for the pot pies.

Wednesday:

After work: Assemble the pot pies and bake.

Late night: Saute the onions and broccoli for the quiche.

Thursday:

After work: Assemble the quiche and bake.

Late night:  Chop a bell pepper and saute it with onions for the pizzas.

Friday:

After work: Make your own pizza night!

I was definitely missing my Boog when I wrote this yesterday, though she’s home now! In the meantime, I wanted to share this little discussion we had last weekend.  We were leaving Target:

Boog: Where we going now?

Me: Well, we have to go put gas in the car and then we’re headed home.

Boog: Gas?

Me: Yes, the car is hungry, so we have to go feed it some gas.

Boog: Yeah, the car needs to eat eggs.

I guess that’s why we’re having a quiche this week.  Everyone could use some eggs.

Enjoy~

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

2 thoughts on “Menu – Week of 10/1/12

  1. Ha ha ha that is to funny!! I am going to make pizza for game night Friday!! Once I can find a dough recipe… I am liking the sound of a pumpkin festival your gonna half talk about it…

    • We’re going for the easy pre-made crust. I found some ultra-thin crust at Target.

      The pumpkin festival is so much fun! We’ve gone the last two years with the Boog and had a great time. I’m excited to see her react this year. I’ll be sure to take pictures of some of the food 🙂

What do you think?

