Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Super Prep and Asian Quesadillas

2 Comments

The prep schedule this week seems to be really working out well.  I spent quite a bit of time yesterday getting everything ready for the week, but I think it’s going to pay off.  Sunday night, I chopped all of the onions needed for the week, diced the chicken for the week, and cooked a double batch of chicken and onions for tonight and tomorrow’s dinner.

Chicken, onions, matchstick carrots, and sugar snap peas (halved)

The filling for the Asian Chicken Quesadillas was almost complete last night, I just had to add the lettuce, cheese, and dressing to the filling tonight, mix it up, and pan grill the quesadillas.  It was great to have my helper back.  Boog helped me put the filling on the tortillas and fold them.  We may have lost a little bit on the floor, but she was so proud of herself that I just let it slide.

I’ve made this recipe before and it always comes out…okay.  I’m trying to figure out what I did different tonight, because they were super tasty!  I used sugar snap peas instead of snow peas because it’s all I could find at the store, and I included sautéed onions, which makes everything better.  Whatever it was, I’m excited about this recipe again.  Husband loved them, and Boog ate some chicken and some “cheesy tortilla”.  I’m not complaining too much because she’s been off her routine the last few days.

Because it took very little time to prep, we went for a family bike ride around the neighborhood after dinner, complete with a stop at the playground.  All around, a great night.

And…tomorrow night’s dinner is completely ready!  I cooked the chicken and onions when I was working on the quesadilla filling last night.  To that, I added cooked quinoa/wild rice mix, a can of Ro-Tel, fresh steamed broccoli, cilantro, cheddar cheese… I think that’s it.  I’ll let you know how it tastes later in the week!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

2 thoughts on “Super Prep and Asian Quesadillas

  1. sounds good

What do you think?

