Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Breakfast for Dinner and a Pizza Party

1 Comment

I LOVE breakfast for dinner.  Breakfast foods are usually pretty easy to make (when you’re not rushed on a weekday morning) and it’s fun to mix things up.  But, for a while we were eating eggs for breakfast just about everyday, so the thought of eggs for dinner was fine by me probably not the best idea.  Lately, our morning egg consumption has dropped, so I decided to make the Crustless Cheddar Broccoli Quiche from Rantings of an Amateur Chef for dinner on Thursday.

Wednesday night prep for Thursday’s dinner

To prep, I sautéed the onions (diced on Sunday) with the broccoli on Wednesday night.  When I got home on Thursday, I just had to throw the ingredients in the pie pan and bake it, which gave Boog and me some time to play the “dancing game” (either Nickelodeon Dance or Just Dance Kids 2).  If it hadn’t been storming, we could have gone for a bike ride, but we found a way to get active and have fun anyway.

Dinner was a success!  Boog ate everything on her plate, except the onions – she sort of ate around the big ones.  I think if I diced them up really fine, she wouldn’t even have noticed them.  But, seriously, she loved the rest of it and she got a nice helping of green veg and protein.  Husband and I liked it to, I mean, its eggs, cheese and broccoli.  What’s not to love!

Friday night, Husband had to work late, but Boog and I had a great time having a pizza party.  She got to make a whole pizza all by herself and choose what to put on it and how.  As you can imagine, that was a hit with a bossy independent two-year old.  It was a great start to our weekend.  We enjoyed our pizza while watching Gnomeo & Juliet.  It was part of my propaganda campaign to get her to dress up as a flower gnome for Halloween.

This is fun!

Boog’s final product – notice the large gaps in the cheese. She kept sampling the cheese and sauce.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

One thought on “Breakfast for Dinner and a Pizza Party

  1. Looking good,

What do you think?

