Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Another Muffin Meal and Chewy Pumpkin Cookies

Leave a comment

Despite being a little extra tired from our bug, we’ve been busy.  Friday night, we had the Mini Cheeseburger Pies for dinner.  Since I used ground turkey breast instead of ground beef, the mixture seemed a bit dry, so I added a can of diced tomatoes, drained, to the meat mixture before baking.  The result was pretty good, though I might scale them back just a bit next time as the tomatoes overpowered everything.  I thought they were okay, Boog refused to eat anything, and Husband loved them.

That really surprised me because this recipe sort of reminds me of Biscuit Burgers, a recipe I LOVED growing up.  I used to make it for him from time to time and he always turned his nose up to it.  If you’re interested, brown a pound of ground meat, drain if necessary.  Mix in a jar of pizza sauce.  Arrange a couple of packages of refrigerated biscuits, either in muffin tins or on a cookie sheet, and make an indentation in each.  Fill up the indentation with the meat mixture.  Cook according to the directions on the biscuits.  (If you’re using a cookie sheet, you may have to cook a couple of additional minutes).  About 2 minutes before they’ll be done, open the oven and sprinkle mozzarella cheese on top.  How can anyone not like that?

Yesterday, Boog and I decided to test out a different pumpkin cookie recipe in our quest to find one that is chewy and not cake-y.  The search led us to these Chewy Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies.  We substituted dried cranberries for the walnuts, and they came out great!  I’ll definitely need to work out a different sugar ratio next time though…Maybe swap out some of the white sugar for more molasses and the rest for brown sugar.  They are really sweet!

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

What do you think?

