Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Menu – Week of 10/15/12

1 Comment

I’ve had a hard time deciding on things this week – I think I changed my mind about 3 times and rearranged even more.  The good news is that 1) I ended up with an easy prep week, 2) I have 3 meals figured out for next week already, and 3) I worked in some Doc’s Chili.  I’ve been waiting for it to cool down to make this recipe, but I give up 🙂

Also, Saturday we’re going to the pumpkin festival!  Can’t wait!

MENU:

Monday: Doc’s Chili – This is from one of The Biggest Loser cookbooks

Tuesday: Caroline-Style Shredded BBQ Sandwiches and Veggies

Wednesday: Caroline-Style Shredded BBQ over salad 

Thursday: Grilled Chicken Breast with Zucchini Chile-Cheddar Mash

Friday: Grandma’s visiting so she can go to the pumpkin festival on Saturday – there may be a date night for Mommy and Daddy.

GROCERIES:

I have to buy:

  • onions
  • ground turkey breast
  • pinto beans
  • spinach and veggies for the salad
  • zucchini
  • green chiles

I already have on hand:

  • diced tomatoes
  • black beans
  • broth
  • garlic
  • chili powder
  • dried oregano
  • cumin
  • mustard
  • cilantro paste and lime juice (we add these to our Doc’s Chili)
  • chicken
  • sandwich thins
  • sliced cheese
  • frozen veggies
  • Carolina-style BBQ sauce (I picked this up at Target a few weeks ago on a whim)
  • oil
  • salt
  • shredded cheese

PREP PLAN:

Sunday:

  • Organize the RR cabinet
  • Dice onions for the week
  • Make the doc’s chili. (It always tastes better the longer the flavors have to come together)

Monday:

After work: Heat up the doc’s chili.  Freeze leftovers to be used in Chili-Mac next week

Tuesday:

Before work: Put chicken breast, BBQ sauce, onions, and some water in the crock pot

After work Microwave some frozen veggies and assemble the sandwiches.

Wednesday:

After work: Heat up the leftover shredded chicken and serve over spinach with other salad veggies.

Late night: Slice the zucchini for the mash.  Dice the chicken for easy cooking.

Thursday:

After work: Prep the zucchini chile-cheddar mash and cook the chicken.

Friday:

After work: Date night, or big family dinner night, or pizza night – something fun!

Told you it was an easy week.

Enjoy~

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

One thought on “Menu – Week of 10/15/12

  1. Cut Fri. Keelin always wants paste and salad. Grandma and Keelin might have a date night too. LOL.

What do you think?

