Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Record of Triumphs

2 Comments

I was a bit of a Debbie Downer last week.  (Why is that a saying? Every Debbie I have known has been perfectly lovely)  So, I thought I’d rattle off some recent successes.

First, before we got sick last week, we had a pretty good track record for exercise.  Sunday, Boog and I went for a bike ride to and from the playground. That’s when we snapped the new profile pic.  Monday and Wednesday nights both included family walk/jogs on the track in our neighborhood. With a promise of the playground afterwards, Boog actually stayed in the jogging stroller.

Then we got sick.  And I always have a hard time judging when to go back to it. Too soon, and I’m not rested or well enough.  Too late and I’m just using another excuse.

So, after resting on Sunday, Husband and I set a date for a family walk on Monday night.  Plans for a good night, healthy Doc’s Chili for dinner and a family walk.

Fast forward to Monday morning.  I get to work, look at my calendar. I have a girls’ night planned!  How could I have forgotten?  These ladies, there are 6 of us including myself, have known each other since college.  A couple of years after we graduated, we started getting together about once a month for dinner, brunch, something.  As we started having kids, as you can imagine, it has become tougher and tougher to get all 6 of us together.  The kids range in age from 5 months to almost 5 years.  We all have at least one child, up to two children with a third on the way.  And the last time we got together was FEBRUARY.  We had been trying to find a weekend to have dinner, before the holidays and before another newborn pops into the picture in approximately 7 weeks, but it was proving impossible.  So, we finally decided on a Monday night, kids optional, dinner.  Yay!

But I had forgotten!  So, after a call to Husband to see if he could still be home in time to watch the Boog so I could make the restaurant on time, and remembering that their dinner was already made, I was excited to see my ladies.  But, I was disappointed in missing out on the family walk.  Another excuse. Ugh.

Then, an idea.  I drove home and grabbed the bike to pick up Boog from school.  I knew I wouldn’t have enough time to gussy up (i.e. shower and put something besides a t-shirt and bike shorts on) for dinner, but friends are friends and love you as you are.  No excuses.  Got to see my friends (and an adorable little 5 month old man), got to spend some time with my Boog, and got some exercise in.

Now on to the chili!  Unfortunately, I didn’t get great pictures of it, but trust me it was delicious!  I enjoyed it for lunch today.  And Boog, she ate her whole bowl of it, except the onions and a few of the tomatoes that she decided to pick out.  She called all of the beans “green beans”, which is pretty funny.  She also ate some grapes, a whole pear, and a whole banana last night.  I’m not sure where she put all of it, but if she’s going to eat that much in a night, I like her choices.

Does not do this chili justice 😦 Also, the yellow is from turmeric

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

2 thoughts on “Record of Triumphs

  1. Pingback: Menu – Week of 10/29/12 « Menus of a Mom

  2. Pingback: Recap Week of 10/29/12 « Menus of a Mom

What do you think?

