Menus of a Mom

Just trying to get the family fed!

Recap Week of 11/5/12

3 Comments

LOVING this November weather, but not loving that Husband now has the flu.  Could we just have a bit of a break between illnesses, please?  So, if anyone has some positive energy out there to send our way, it would certainly be appreciated.  I’m also hoping that he’s got a strain included in this year’s vaccine, since both Boog and I have been vaccinated.  Just in case, he still has to maintain a 2 ft minimum perimeter at all times.  Just kidding…sort of.

Anyway, he seemed happy with the dinners all week….but maybe that was just because he can’t really taste anything?  Hmm…

Monday, 11/5: Oh-Honey-Honey Boneless BBQ Wings with sweet potato fries

What we having? Chicken nuggets and french fries.  Win!  Husband loved these.  I think I put a in more Frank’s than last time, because Boog said they were spicy.  But she seems okay with a little extra spice, as long as she has a big glass of milk.

Tuesday, 11/6: Southwest Chicken Chowder

The picture makes it seem like it’s more watery than it was.  I opted out of the chipotle peppers, but had planned to add a little chipotle pepper powder.  However, I forgot.  So, this was really mild.  I think that part disappointed Husband, but Boog ate her entire bowl, except the onions and most of the red peppers.  I say it’s a keeper…and a safe slow cooker recipe.

Wednesday, 11/7: Potato and Pea Frittata from Peri’s Spice Ladle

This is so yummy and relatively simple!  The first time I made it, I sliced my potatoes and had these really large, hard to handle slices.  (I failed to look at the pictures provided on the blog the first time…oops!) With that, and my general tendency to be impatient, I ended up have some potatoes that were still a bit crunchy.  But this time… I used the mandolin to cut the potatoes french fry style, which made them easier to handle in the pan, and it cooked a little faster.  So, I got to really experience this dish as it’s supposed to be, I think.  Loved it!  Husband loved it!  Boog loved it! Though, for her, I called it eggs, french fries, and peas.  She declared that she liked peas, so it’s a win, no matter the name.

Thursday, 11/8: Beef and Bean Taco Salad

Simple and delicious! I made some modifications…let’s see.  I used ground turkey breast instead of beef.  I cooked the red onion with the turkey breast.  The onion was super pungent and I couldn’t handle it anymore!  I bought a 4-pk of Wholly Guacamole at Costco last weekend, so we had that instead of a fresh avocado.  I used some leftover baked tostada shells hanging around the house instead of tortilla strips.  It was really tasty, and Boog ate quite a bit of the meat/bean mixture.  And all of the “chips”, of course.

Friday, 11/9: Peanut Noodles with Edamame

 

Ok, yum!  I made the sauce in the blender the night before, popped the whole blender into the refrigerator overnight and just whirred it up while I cooked the rest.  This was seriously tasty and everyone raved.  Boog was covered in peanut sauce by the time dinner was over, which is always considered a compliment to the chef in my book.  This reminds me of a Publix recipe that I used to make, but this was much easier.  I included the chicken, but I think next time, I would either omit it, or have cooked, shredded chicken to just throw in, to make it an even easier meal.

Author: menusofamom

I'm a mom that works outside the house trying to create home cooked meals for my little family of three. My husband is a small business owner, and my daughter turned 2 in February.

3 thoughts on “Recap Week of 11/5/12

  1. Thanks…thrilled to read the positive results from the frittata…or appropriately called French fries, peas and eggs:) yes, that’s how I get my boys to try stuff out too! It’s our universal mom code! It looks so well made and definitely as intended… Great job there:)

  2. looks good !!!

What do you think?

